Sun. Apr 21st, 2024

Blinken congratulated seven European countries on the 20th anniversary of joining NATO

In a statement on On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the accession of Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia to NATO, Blinken emphasized that these countries have come “a long way from brutal tyranny and occupation to achieving freedom through courage and perseverance,” reports " Voice of America.

"Twenty years ago, when you became allies, we were inspired by your successes, – noted in a statement released by the US State Department. – Today we celebrate your unwavering commitment to defending every inch of NATO territory and upholding our shared democratic values.”

“From the Baltic to the Black Sea, across the Atlantic and the Adriatic, NATO is more united than ever and capable– the statement says. – On this important anniversary, we are proud to stand side by side with you as allies defending our vision for the future.

Earlier this week, Blinken met with foreign ministers in Washington Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania and discussed with them the security of NATO's eastern flank and support for Ukraine.

BAGNET reminds that Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia have joined NATO on March 29, 2004, bringing the total number of Alliance members to 26. These seven countries began negotiations to join NATO shortly after the collapse of the Soviet Union and were eventually invited to join at the Prague Summit in November 2002.

Prepared by: Sergey Daga

By admin

Related Post