Unanimous: Sandy Alcántara is the National League Cy Young

Spread the love
  • Unanimous: Sandy Alcántara is the Cy Young of the National League

    Sandy Alcántara.

    < /li>

Miami Marlins pitcher Sandy Alcántara was unanimously chosen as the winner of the Cy Young Award in the Major League National League for the 2022 season.

He received 30 possible first-place votes, to beat  Max Fried of the Atlanta Braves and Julio Urías of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

The announcement of the award was made by his compatriot and legend of the majors, Pedro Martín  as a Dominican pride, “Dominican Pride Sandy Alcántara”.

Alcántara, 27, led the group. Major League Baseball with 228.2 innings and six complete games, the most in baseball over the past six seasons.

He opened He played 32 games and posted a 2.28 ERA, struck out 1-2, and struck out. He beat 297 rivals and made a goal. 24 quality starts, finishing with a 14-9 mark. Due to his great work in the middle of the season, he was called to the second All-Star Game of his career.

With his award he was joined by to Bartolo Colón (the all-time leader in wins among Latinos in the Major Leagues), who won the title. He won the award in 2005 with the Anaheim Angels and Cooperstown member Pedro Martinez who won it in 2005. on three occasions (1997,1999 and in 2000).

The native of Azua became a the first Marlins pitcher to earn the award. Previously, José Fernández (2013), Dontrelle Willis (05) and Kevin Brown (1996) had all been finalists.

The all-star pitcher is on the way. He is under contract with the Marlins through 2027, he confirmed. He will participate in the 2023 World Baseball Classic with the Dominican team.


Unanimous Cy Young winners in Major League history:

2022 Sandy Alcá; ntara

2020 Shane Bieber

2014 Clayton Kershaw

2011 Justin Verlander

2010 Roy Halladay

2007 Jake Peavy

2006 Johan Santana

2004 Johan Santana

2002 Randy Johnson

2000 Pedro Martinez

Posted in Uncategorized