Lukaku is included in the Belgium squad for the Qatar World Cup

Spread the love
  • Lukaku is included in the Belgium squad for the World Cup in Qatar

    The Inter de Milan, Romelu Lukaku, was doubtful due to a thigh injury.

Inter Milan striker Romelu Lukaku, who was doubtful due to a thigh injury, was finally included in the selection of 26 Belgian internationals for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, announced the statement. This Thursday the coach, Roberto Martínez.

In a press conference, Martínez explained that Lukaku, at this moment "is not there. “medically fit” to play. 

But the striker is ready to play. He is being treated and has ten days (until the eve of the first game, on November 23), to be “completely recovered,” he added. the coach of the Red Devils, in Tubize, south of Brussels.

“He receives treatment and enters that period, until November 22, where he has the opportunity to recover completely,” said the Spaniard.

Lukaku, 29, is the top scorer in the history of the Belgian national team (65 goals), which ended third of the World Cup-2018.

But the Inter striker has been suffering from a hamstring injury in his left leg since the end of August, and a relapse in early November raised doubts about his ability to play in the World Cup.

< p>Martínez said this Thursday that he hopes he is ready. at least recovered for the second phase of the competition, after the first three games of the first round.

The list of those selected has no surprises.

Despite their few Playing time at Real Madrid, national team captain Eden Hazard has been called up, though his role remains to be determined.

The other stars of the team (Thibaut Courtois, Axel Witsel, Kevin De Bruyne) are also on the list, while Martínez maintains his confidence in defensive veterans like Jan Vertonghen (35 years old). and Toby Alderweireld (33).

In the first round, Belgium will face Belgium. to Canada (November 23), Morocco (November 27) and Croatia (December 1).

This is the list of the 26 Belgian footballers:

Goalkeepers: < /strong>Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid/ESP), Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge/BEL), Koen Casteels (Wolfsburg/GER).

Defenders: Toby Alderweireld (Antwerp/BEL), Jan Vertonghen (Anderlecht/BEL), Zeno Debast (Anderlecht/BEL), Leander Dendoncker (Aston Villa/ENG), Wout Faes (Leicester/ENG), Arthur Theate (Stade Rennais/FRA).

< strong>Midfielders: Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Timothy Castagne (Leicester, ENG), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/ENG), Axel Witsel (Atlético Madrid/ESP), Youri Tielemans (Leicester/ENG), Amadou Onana (Everton/ENG), Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge), Yannick Carrasco (Atlético Madrid/ESP).

Forwards : Eden Hazard (Real Madrid/ESP), Leandro Trossard (Brighton/ENG), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan/ITA), Michy Batshuayi (Fenerbahce/TUR), Charles De Ketelaere (Milan AC/ITA ), Lois Openda (RC Lens/FRA), Jeremy Doku (Stade Rennais/FRA), Dries Mertens (Galata saray/TUR).

Posted in Uncategorized