Less than a year before the Rugby World Cup, Los Pumas beat England 30-29 at Twickenham

Spread the love

The Argentine team played at a high level and beat the locals, rivals in the group stage at the 2023 World Cup, for the second time in their story

With less than a year to go before the Rugby World Cup, the Pumas beat England 30-29 at Twickenham

Then 16-year-old Los Pumas beat England in London (Reuters/Matthew Childs)

The Argentine rugby team, Los Pumas achieved a historic victory as they beat England 30-29 England at the mythical Twickenham Stadium, before 82 thousand people. It was a very close match in which both took the lead on several occasions, but the team led by Michael Cheika He struck at the right moments and won again in London against the British team after 16 years and 13 years since he had beaten La Rosa.

The meeting was closed and the testimony of the Argentine captain, Julián Montoya, illustrated it: “It was a blow-by-blow match. The defenses also prevailed and they marked us quite easy. We knew what to think about the scoreboard. We knew it wasn't going to be a perfect match and we played against a very strong England team”, said the hooker in dialogue with ESPN.

“The truth is that I am very happy and proud. Whether we win or lose, we play for something bigger than playing for these colors,” added the 29-year-old from Buenos Aires.

The scorer of the Argentine team, Emiliano Boffelli (25 points) said that “we enjoy the noise of playing here in front of 80 thousand people. The team's work was tremendous. A long time ago we decided that they would no longer be 'historic triumphs'. We know the euphoria of winning against New Zealand, but this has to go on”.

While Pablo Mattera , he indicated that “it was a very special week because none of the boys here in England had won at Twickenham. It was a fight in the 80 minutes. The important thing was that every so many of them we came out fast and were able to convert. It was a sign of the team's maturity.”

“We grew up in the Rugby Championship, but we didn't leave satisfied. We want to be aware of where we are and we know that if we grow we can be a better team game after game”, he added. “It is a nice window to grow because they are three very tough rivals. In six days we are playing a very tough game against Wales”, he concluded.

It was a historic victory for Los Pumas after 16 years. It was also in London that the Albiceleste team won 2006 (25-18). The three home wins for Argentina occurred in 1990 at the Vélez Sarsfield court (15-13), in 1997 at the Ferro Carril Oeste court (33-13) and in 2009 in Salta (24-22).

< p class="paragraph">In the overall history of both teams, there were three duels in which England won eight times and Argentina won four five and there was a tie.

Both Argentina and England will meet again in the next World Cup to be held in France in 2023 as they will share Group D with Samoa, Chile and Japan.

This Sunday's match was the start of the November international window, which includes two other matches, against Wales , on Saturday the 12th (2:30 p.m. Argentine time), at Cardiff's Principality Stadium, and will culminate their tour of Europe against Scotland, at 12:15 p.m., on Saturday the 19th at Murrayfield Stadium of Edinburgh.


England: Freddie Stewart; Jack Nowell, Manu Tuilagi, Owen Farrell (captain) and Joe Cokanasiga; Marcus Smith and Ben Youngs; Tom Curry, Billy Vunipola and Maro Itoje; Johnny Hill and Alex Coles; Kyle Sinckler, Luke Cowan-Dickie, and Ellis Genge. Coach: Eddie Jones.

Substitutes: Jack Singleton, Mako Vunipola, Joe Heyes, David Ribbans, Sam Simmonds, Jack Willis, Jack van Poortvliet and Henry Slade .

Argentina: Juan Cruz Mallía; Mateo Carreras, Matías Moroni, Jerónimo de la Fuente and Emiliano Boffelli; Santiago Carreras and Gonzalo Bertranou; Marcos Kremer, Pablo Matera and Juan Martín González; Tomás Lavanini and Matías Alemanno; Francisco Gómez Kodela, Julián Montoya (captain) and Thomas Gallo. Coach: Michael Cheika.

Substitutes: Ignacio Ruiz, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Eduardo Bello, Lucas Paulos, Facundo Isa, Eliseo Morales, Tomás Albornoz and Matías Orlando .

Referee: Andrew Brace

Article in progress