Hernán Darío Herrera's team won 3-1, at the Atanasio Girardot stadium. 

Hernán Darío Herrera's team won 3-1, at the Atanasio Girardot stadium. 

Atlético Nacional took an important lead in the first leg of the final against Deportes Tolima. This 3-1 Wednesday, at the Atanasio Girardot stadium, gives the team led by Hernán Darío Herrera the right to dream of star number 17.

The Sunday, at 7 pm, the second leg will be played, at the Atanasio Girardot stadium, in which Tolma will try to reverse the disadvantage to finally be able to celebrate a League title by closing in their stadium. It should be remembered that the three titles achieved by Tolima were playing the second game as a visitor: in 2003-II, against Cali; in 2018-I, against Nacional, and in 2021-I, against Millonarios.

Meluk tells him (Nacional hit first: Candelo, thanks for the fire) The statistic that gives Nacional air for the second leg

The antecedents, however, do not favor Tolima. On seven occasions there was a winner by two or more goals in the first leg of the League final. Only once was there a comeback.

The first to score a two-goal difference in the first leg of the final was Independiente Medellín, who beat Deportivo Pasto 2-0 in the first leg of the title definition in 2002-II. Then, as a visitor, they tied 1-1 and were crowned after 45 years.

Precisely, Tolima's first title came after a victory by two goals difference: 2-0 against Deportivo Cali. Although the Greens equalized the series with a 3-1, the team then led by Luis Augusto García prevailed in shots from the penalty spot.

Hernán Darío Herrera's team won 3-1, at the Atanasio Girardot stadium. 

In 2004-II, one of the most exciting finals in history was presented: Junior beat Nacional 3-0 in Barranquilla and then lost 5-2 in Medellín, but was crowned champion in the tiebreaker from the white point.

A year later, Cali made an important difference to Real Cartagena, by beating them 0-2 as a visitor. Then he revalidated with a 1-0 at home to be crowned champion.

In the second half of 2007, Nacional secured the two-time championship by beating La Equidad 0-3 in El Campín. The 0-0 in the second leg at the Atanasio Girardot was almost a formality.

Tolima protests and announces demand for authorization of Giovanni Moreno The only comeback after a win by two goals difference

Almost ten years passed for a team to get two or more goals difference in the first leg of a League final, and that was the only time the loser came from behind
. In the 2007-I final, Cali beat Nacional 2-0 in Palmaseca, but then, those then led by Reinaldo Rueda thrashed 5-1 at the Atanasio to keep the star.

In 2018-II, Junior beat Medellín 4-1 and then, although he lost 3-1 at Atanasio, he was crowned champion. And in 2020, Santa Fe could not reverse the 3-0 first leg against América and, despite winning 2-0 in the second leg, their rival kept the title.

The statistics are to break them and that is what Tolima trusts. But Nacional took a giant step to star 17.

Nacional beats Tolima and the memes do their thing in the final Yerson Candelo scored the goal of the year: spectacular, from midfield Hernán Torres: 'We can't go wrong thus, they took advantage of the mistakes'