England announces a list without surprises for Qatar

Spread the love
  • England announces a list without surprises for Qatar

    Harry Kane will be one of the main scorers of the England team.

The English football federation announced this Thursday a list of 26 players for the World Cup-2022 without big surprises and that will be led by their attacking trio Harry Kane, Phil Foden and Raheem Sterling.

Injuries, such as those to Chelsea wingers Reece James and Ben Chilwell, both out for the World Cup, had limited options of Gareth Southgate in this sector.

Despite everything, he has taken the risk of calling up Kyle Walker, who has been injured for a long time with Manchester City and who has not played again, but is ready to play. close to being fully recovered.

The experience, versatility and speed of the 32-year-old player, capable of playing on the right in a three-way defence, or as a winger, has weighed, just like in the call for Ben White, from Arsenal, who can also fill both positions.

After having played 30 minutes for City again on Wednesday, in the League Cup, the presence on the list of Kalvin Phillips is also quite logical, despite his little playing time.

England's launch ramp at the European Championship in 2021, alongside Declan Rice, will not be easy. necessarily titular, since the position seems reserved to Jude Bellingham, but it will have surely right to come into play.

To hedge the risk of relapse, Southgate  preferred Connor Gallagher instead of James Ward-Prowse, who had been regularly called up but is likely paying for Southampton's disappointing start to the season, 18th; of the Premier League.

The other semi-surprises are up front, where Southgate selected Newcastle striker Callum Wilson and Leicester's James Maddison have been released, while Jadon Sancho, absent from recent squads, will stay on. at home, just like Tammy Abraham, who hasn't stood out for Roma at the start of the season.

Wilson, who was capped four times between 2018 and 2019, has been one of the main players in the Magpies' good start to the season, third in the Premier League, with six goals in ten games.

Maddison, an important piece in Leicester's attack for months and since Jamie Vardy no longer scores so regularly, with six goals and four assists in thirteen games, will contribute also a touch of additional creativity, which could be useful, considering the average level shown by Mason Mount or Jack Grealish these days.

This is the list of 26 England players:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Nick Pope (Newcastle).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Coady (Everton), Eric Dier (Tottenham), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Ben White (Arsenal) , Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool, Declan Rice (West Ham), Connor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City).

Forwards: Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manch Ester City), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Chelsea), Callum Wilson (Newcastle), James Maddison (Leicester).

Posted in Uncategorized