Australian Groves won the fourth stage of the Vuelta, Evenepoel is still in red

Spread the love

The fourth stage of the Vuelta was won by the Australian Groves, in June it was won by Evenepoel

Illustration photo – World Cycling Championships, men's time trial, 11 August 2023, Stirling. The victorious Belgian Remco Evenepoel with the gold medal on the podium.

Tarragona (Spain) – Australian cyclist Kaden Groves won the fourth stage of the Vuelta and is celebrating his third Grand Tours. At the end of the 183.4 km route from Andorra to Tarragona, he defeated Juan Sebastián Molan from Colombia in a sprint duel. The lead in the standings was defended by defending champion Remco Evenepoel from Belgium.

Advertisement'; }

The end of today's stage was marked by two falls. A mass carom in the peloton first occurred about four kilometers before the end, where the main field split. The other two riders then ended up in the barrier in the last sharp turn before the finish line.

Czech cyclist Michal Schlegel finished in 71st place in the group, which lost 33 seconds to the winner in the end. Jan Hirt gained 18 seconds more and took the 92nd place.

World time trial champion Evenepoel avoided all inconveniences today, unlike the previous day, when he collided with a journalist after crossing the finish line and ended up on the ground. However, he described his injuries from this carom as only superficial and should not limit him in any way. “It happens. I was lucky,” said the leader of the Soudal-Quick Step team.

In the red jersey, he will defend a lead of five seconds over the Spaniard Enrico Mas in Wednesday's fifth stage. The Danish Tour de France champion Jonas Vingegaard is 31 seconds behind in fourth place.

On Wednesday, the peloton will complete the 186.2 km track from Morella to Burriana. Cyclists will have a similar undulating profile as today, and once again the sprinters should have the say in the end.

Vuelta cycling stage race – 4th stage (Andorra la Vella – Tarragona, 183.4 km).

1. Groves (Austr./Alpecin-Deceuninck) 4:05:41, 2. Molano (Col./SAE Team Emirates), 3. Theuns (Belg./Lidl-Trek), 4. Menten (Belg./Lotto-Dstny) , 5. Van Gestel (Belg./TotalEnergies), 6. Aular (Ven./Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), …71. Schlegel (CZ/Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) -33, 92. Hirt (CZ/Soudal-Quick Step) -51.

Current order: 1. Evenepoel (Belg./Soudal-Quick Step) 12:48:52, 2. Mas (Sp./Movistar) -5, 3. Martinez (Fr./Groupama-FDJ) -11, 4. Vingegaard (Dan./Jumbo -Visma) -31, 5. Vlasov (CZ/Bora-hansgrohe), 6. Uijtdebroeks (Belg./Bora-hansgrohe) both -33, …30. Hirt -2:47, 62. Schlegel -11:09.